IMPORTANT: The forum is in Read-Only mode and registrations have been disabled.

PoseRay to Kerkythea conversion

General information regarding development of exporters and plugins
el_gorgoro
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:23 am

Post by el_gorgoro »

I've been making some test wih Pose Ray. Works great!!!
mrys
KT-Fellow
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:34 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by mrys »

I've just found this thread and it make me happy :) My basic renderer for many years before I discovered Kerkythea was PovRay. And Pose Ray was basic tool for integration Blender or other modelling soft with PovRay. So possible using this also for KT is fantastic news! Thanks!
anar
KT-Warrior
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by anar »

I just discovered that Poseray could prepare a displaced mesh to be used in KT.
So I've been giving it a try.

I've made some test on a simple object (sphere) and compared the beta version with adaptive displacement subd to the non adaptive one.

Here is a quick result.

The adaptive-displaced sphere is about 320.000 polygons while the non-adaptive-displaced one was more than 1 Millions polygons.

As you can see the difference is hardly noticeable in the render.
Even if that's not evident in my renders I think the adaptive mesh might even result in better details where displacement occurs.

Poseray is a wonderful app !!!
Attachments
Displaced - MLT 30 passes - over 1M polygons
Displaced - MLT 30 passes - over 1M polygons
Displaced wireframe - over 1M polygons
Displaced wireframe - over 1M polygons
3D by passion
anar
KT-Warrior
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by anar »

Results with the adaptive method
Attachments
Adaptive displaced - MLT 30 passes - about 320.000 polygons
Adaptive displaced - MLT 30 passes - about 320.000 polygons
Adaptive displaced wireframe - about 320.000 polygons
Adaptive displaced wireframe - about 320.000 polygons
3D by passion
notareal
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 4211
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal »

The adaptive-displaced looks quite good. It's hard to spot difference... As KT handles rather high poly objects, then external displacement is a good option. There is usually is not much speed difference in rendering if displacement is done by the render engine or if you render a mesh that has similar poly count that the render engine displaced mesh. It's just a work flow issue.
massimo
KT-Wizard
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Post by massimo »

I've tried this program for the first time. It seems quite good! :grin:
Attachments
prova_1.jpg
Last edited by massimo on Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rafa
KT-GrandMaster
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:16 am
Location: México

Post by Rafa »

Nice example... but that ball seems a little hard to kik... :mrgreen:
anar
KT-Warrior
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by anar »

notareal wrote:There is usually is not much speed difference in rendering if displacement is done by the render engine or if you render a mesh that has similar poly count that the render engine displaced mesh.
Notareal, I don't know enough about renderers internal algorithms, but that is probably true.
But I'm not sure that every renderer does adaptive subd before applying displacement, so it's hard to tell about the "similar poly count".

If your theory is correct (which I believe is : it should cost about the same rendering time), then using Poseray (beta version) offers the benefit to be able to better control this poly count rather than let it do by the renderer.

The more I use Poseray (I've only played once and only with the displacement tab) the more I wish I could have discover it earlier !
I think it's gonna replace a few apps I usually use because it seems to have it all in one app.
And I'm not speaking of only displacement...

It's a great MUST HAVE !
and use...
3D by passion
notareal
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 4211
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal »

That just a rough estimate based on my experience. Adaptive subdivision should give some added speed when rendering, if compared to ordinary subdivision. How is UV mapping with pose ray?
anar
KT-Warrior
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by anar »

notareal wrote:How is UV mapping with pose ray?
Hey ! Hey !
That's exactly what I was wondering...
It's gonna be the next tab I want to have a look at (maybe today if I have the time).
If it does about the same as the excellent UVMapper that I've been using for years, then I could choose to only use Poseray and not use UVMapper anymore...

I also want to see all the other Poseray features but I'm gonna stick on the UV Mapping possibilities at first.

I'll give you my feedback on that subject.
3D by passion
RedSquare
KT-GrandMaster
Posts: 1753
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 4:39 pm
Location: Blackheath. London UK.

Post by RedSquare »

Grief! I had forgotten all about this thread. I must try this when I get back home at the end of the week. 8)

Question: Is the link towards the begining of this thread still the original beta or is there a later version?
Fanners \:D/
_______
notareal
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 4211
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal »

Latest official version seems to be 3.12.2. So beta seems to be one to use... not sure if there a any other beta available.
anar
KT-Warrior
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by anar »

RedSquare wrote: Question: Is the link towards the begining of this thread still the original beta or is there a later version?
Hi RedSquare,

I don't know but that's the one I've been using and it seems to work fine.
3D by passion
RedSquare
KT-GrandMaster
Posts: 1753
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 4:39 pm
Location: Blackheath. London UK.

Post by RedSquare »

Great, thanks. :wink:
Fanners \:D/
_______
anar
KT-Warrior
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by anar »

Fletch wrote:(...) he will likely create a PoseRay sub-forum ... at least that's what I would do...
Hi Fletch !

I'd like to have this Poseray sub-forum because I have some more test done with that app that I would like to share with all of you but I really don't know where to post them...

Do you think there will be one or should I post my results here ?

Best regards.
3D by passion
Locked