FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

Moderator: ModeratorGroup

<<

giannis

Site Admin

Posts: 4627

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:59 am

Location: Athens, Greece

Post Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 pm

Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

Dear friends,

we know that it has been very long time without upgrades, except for an intermediate one (here in the forum).

This time, we thought to make an "official" upgrade through our webside. There are not many things changed, we didn't want to render all the tutorials / manuals / resources by changing how things work. But we had now the chance to make it official and get Kerkythea 64-bit with a serious speed up.

We decided to call this edition Kerkythea 2018 Boost. It took me some time to realize that's a 10 year upgrade from previous version for a software that is still alive - thanks to you all! Kerkythea stands apart in our heart as a software that has been driven with so much love from the userbase (and the devs!).

Regarding this upgrade now, we made a few changes:
- Kerkythea is now 64-bit (on Windows actually, the installer comes with both 32 & 64-bit executables but on Linux/OSX there are only 64-bit executables now).
- There is a considerable speed-up; up to 50% on Windows and OSX (somewhat less on Linux).
- Upgraded to Fox Toolkit 1.6.57 (unfortunately, in the process we lost localization of the base UI dialogs).

If you want to get this new version, please go to our downloads page:
http://www.kerkythea.net/cms/index.php/downloads

Best wishes
<<

TipsyDog

KT-Fellow

Posts: 40

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:29 am

Location: Kiev, Ukraine

Post Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

Yeeeeeeeessssss!!!!!!! I'm happy!!! I'm very happy !!! Thank you that you are with us!
<<

TipsyDog

KT-Fellow

Posts: 40

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:29 am

Location: Kiev, Ukraine

Post Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:51 pm

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

For 7 years we have been waiting for this event.
<<

harsh267

Posts: 0

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:02 pm

Post Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

The kerkythea v3.0 is unstable in 64 . During batch render it renders 3-4 frames and then turns off without saying anything as if it was never working.
<<

RBruyn

Posts: 0

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:55 pm

Post Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:02 pm

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

Hi, to use this version (3.0), is necessarily to install version 2008?
<<

micheus

Posts: 11

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:39 pm

Location: Brazil

Post Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

It sounds like an official release of that Kerkythea 2008 Echo Boost (Release Candidate 2.5.2) (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10661) that was already 64bits for Windows. Is that right?
Last edited by micheus on Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

TipsyDog

KT-Fellow

Posts: 40

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:29 am

Location: Kiev, Ukraine

Post Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

I think yes. But it has some bugs
<<

Andre33700

Posts: 0

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:46 pm

Post Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:03 pm

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

Hello, I used Kerkythea for several years partner to SketchUp (Kerkythea on 2008) and I in very satisfied summer. So, when I saw appearing the new version I loaded it immediately. SURPRISED, nothing more works correctly in particular the administrator of materials (load/protection of library) Also BASIC Pack is not usable.
I work under Windows 10 and to check, I cancelled temporarily the firewall and AVAST without more results.
What may I make? It is not even more possible to reload the Kerkythea version on 2008 as well as its libraries of materials.
Thank you for answering me.
<<

rocso

Posts: 1

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:42 am

Post Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:20 am

Re: Kerkythea v3.0 (Boost Edition)

On a 32 bit Windows (Vista) 4 threads machine:

While I've managed to render a scene successfully it has not been without difficulty and I'm currently unable to complete the render at all after minor changes to the scene.

But I don't think it's the render that is the problem but the GUI, which will hang or crash after just a few changes to the scene such as materials, lighting or configuration changes, before the render has even started.

Another clue is that, at least once the GUI froze during ray trace or antialiasing (background render) but saving what I thought was the incomplete rendered image turned out to have been fully antialiased when viewed in another app.

It appears to be a resource management issue because I can normally get a successful render by saving the scene and restarting the program to start the render immediately.

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.